Kevin Byard is first 'Eddie George Good Guy Award' winner; Others who would have won in the past

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Some local media corps around the NFL have long presented an annual award to the player they find most helpful.

Others have started more recently.ByardGoodGuy

We've been too slow to do so. But finally, as the Nashville chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America, we created such an award, named it after Eddie George and voted on the first winner. 

Unanimously, we gave it to Kevin Byard, who's never asked for a day off and never turned away a question, helping all of us in regular group settings and sticking around for an extra question any time anyone needed him.

I had suggested to Taylor Lewan he pass through the room during media availability Thursday, and I don't know if that's why he did. But I took the chance to tell him I was sorry we had not created the award earlier because he certainly would have won it at least once. 

Here is a rough sketch of guys in the Tennesse era of the franchise I would also like to tell the same thing. You'd have had my vote and I think you'd have won, gotten the trophy and had your name on the press room plaque that now starts with Byard.

ByardAward2020Eddie George

Frank Wycheck

Samari Rolle

Keith Bulluck

Derrick Mason

Lance Schulter

Kyle Vanden Bosch

Kevin Mawae

Chris Hope

Bo Scaife

Matt Hasselbeck

Jurrell Casey

Jason McCourty

Nate Washington

Nate Washington

Stephen Tulloch

Delanie Walker

Bernard Pollard

Brian Orakpo

Taylor Lewan

Logan Ryan

Rodger Saffold

A.J. Brown




You are not authorised to post comments.

Comments powered by CComment